Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

Lessons Learnt – Part 2

Posted by Haris Gulzar on February 21, 2010

This semester is taking up too much of my time. One thing that I have really learnt while living at a hostel is how to manage time, as I said in my previous Lessons Learnt post. I don’t know if it has to do with living at home or living away or not but for me, hostel life has really taught me how to distribute time to what needs to be done, keeping in view the pending tasks. It has been good so far but I really hope it continues in a seamless way Insha-Allah. One of the most comforting thoughts that comes after I think about all the difficulties in managing my time is that this going to be my last semester here Insha-Allah…🙂

Here are a few more lessons that I think life has taught me. Click here to read Part 1.

1) Learn to fail. Failing is the best form of learning. Any task that we take up, we should have in mind the fact that we can fail and the task might not be completed. Although this thought might hinder your performance but if you fail without expecting to fail, it hurts bad. This thinking should never hinder you from doing what you want to do, and above all, the failure should be taken as an experiment and a way to correct yourself from making the same mistake in future.

“I have not failed, I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work”. ~Thomas Edison

2) Learn to Forgive. One of my teachers once said that we should only take good memories with us and leave behind the bad memories. Although very trivial, but it is just so true. Life is unfair, and we should accept it. I don’t know how many of you would agree with me that a lot of times we feel undone or treated unjustly but that’s what life is all about. This doesn’t mean you should not try to get what you deserve, but taking revenge is not always the right policy. In fact sometimes forgiving is a better policy and teaches the opposition a lesson that couldn’t have been taught otherwise.

“Always forgive your enemy, nothing annoys them so much”. ~Laura Moncur

3) Apologize. Listening to what others have to say can more often than not tell you where you were wrong and what and how things should have done. We should accept our mistakes if we made any and should apologize if what and how we did things hurt someone. We shouldn’t stick to our position and enforce our stance onto others. At times we do/say something without realizing the intensity or the different interpretations that others can have out of it. Although the right sorts of people shouldn’t need an apology and should understand you, but it won’t degrade you if you apologize.

"If you even dream of beating me you’d better wake up and apologize." ~Mohammad Ali

15 Responses to “Lessons Learnt – Part 2”

  1. A Desi said

    great post!

    absolutely inspiring!

    you ve touched a life deeply today!

  2. Nice post Haris…though i could make to your blog i guess after a month 😛 but its still as enlightening as it was 🙂
    hats off to you for writing such a beautiful words… 🙂

  3. brocasarea said

    yeah failure helps😉

  4. @A Desi: Thank you so very much🙂

    @CU: You’ve probably come here after more than a month, anyways welcome back and thank you🙂

    @Brocasarea: Only if we try to learn from it🙂

  5. said

    Failing. I accepted it a long long time ago😉

    Great post🙂

  6. This is a brilliant post!
    All three lessons are extremely important.
    I love the quote at the end by M.Ali😀

  7. Specs said

    A very inspirational post! I so needed to read something like this today.🙂
    Though I do wish I wouldn’t find the 1000 things that don’t work right when I open my books the night before the exam and try to absorb something. LoLz. And Point #2, Oh-so-true. I LOVE doing what Laura Moncer said😉

    This post reminds me of a quote I read once- its so inspirational that I repeat it to myself every time I’m between a rock and a hard place and it works for me. “Those who are skilled in combat do not become angered, those who are skilled at winning do not become afraid. Thus the wise win before they fight, while the ignorant fight to win. -Zhuge Liang”

    Happy winning, Haris.🙂 Kick this semester’s ass… and of the ones after it😉

  8. Assalamoalaikum Bhai, JazaAllah a good rminder of a something I should practice again, especially the last two…

  9. @Qa: Accepting Failure and moving on really puts your life at easy doesn’t it?

    @Smiley: Thank you so very much…

    @Specs: Excellent quotation. The wise win before they fight. Says everything. Thank you so very much…

    @Alhamdolillah: Walaikum Salam sister, I hope you’re doing good IA. Forgiving is something that really puts you above others, and should be practiced more often. May Allah guide us all, Ameen.

  10. Ayesha said

    Very nice post and I agree with what you have said! These are indeed the principles one should follow, however, I wish I was more disciplined in distributing my time for various tasks!

  11. Huda said

    An excellent post!
    Maybe you should do these types more often to motivate kids like me.😦

  12. @Ayesha: Thank you so very much. Managing time, as I think, is one of the most difficult tasks a person can have…

    @Huda: lol😛. Motivation comes from within, or most of it at least. Though I’d definitely try and continue with such posts if that helps🙂. But for that, I’ll have to learn a few lessons myself first😀

  13. Yasser said

    well the last one is amazing, because i didn’t hear it before, rest i know already😛

    1) Well, you might be right but keeping failure in mind can put us in advantage position, i agree some people do get emotional after losing and lost completely though i suggest when in b/w the road of achieving something why not keep in mind ” Winning is not everything but it is the only thing” and if somehow we lost we can remind ourselves this “I have not failed, I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work”. ~Thomas Edison” as you quoted above.

    2) Yeah we should do that there is a famous story of rotten tomatoes i don’t know whether you have heard it or, where the teacher had asked it’s student to keep with them Tomatoes for 1 week, and in the end she related that if we keep hatred for somebody in our heart it’s going to disturb us just like the smell of tomatoes did to students after days.

    Nice post

    regards

    Yasser

  14. @Yasser: The attitude to win is obviously very important, but we should have in our mind that losing is also part of the game, and that losing leads us to better win the game next time…

    Nicely related story of rotten tomatoes. Hatred only disturbs us, thats it. Thank you for your comment.

  15. an inspiring post,indeed. Really liked it. =) was in need of a clue,n ur post gave me the answers! thnx!

Leave a Reply

 
