Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

The Final Week of 2009 Meme

Posted by Haris Gulzar on December 30, 2009

I saw this post here and really wanted to answer the questions myself as well. The questions really attracted me. I am also copying the picture from where I saw the post, and I didn’t even ask for permission if I can copy the picture or not🙂 (Only told the author that I’m copying the picture :-P)…

New Year

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

1) Missed a couple of my friends very very badly at times.

2) Started blogging🙂.

3) Developed a passion of having my own library…

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I never made any resolutions. And lets see if I’ll make some for the coming year or not.

3. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?

We have a bonfire and BBQ at our hostel. Besides I have lots of projects to submit, lots of assignments to complete and lots of course to prepare for the final exams…

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My grandfather did. I couldn’t even see him for the last time😦. And I was really very close to him.

5. What countries did you visit?

None.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

The list is just too long to be mentioned here🙂

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Because this post is going public, I won’t mention that date and the reason here🙂

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Developing a passion for writing I think…

9. What was your biggest failure?

1) I have really tried hard to control my anger but have failed badly

2) I realized very late that living in your past doesn’t lead you anywhere, and that whatever happens, life goes on…

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I have been ill several times. Constant Migrane and consistent Flu and sore throat…

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Didn’t do much shopping being a student, and can’t recall if I bought anything worth mentioning here

12. Where did most of your money go?

In my education and expenses related to it

13. What song will always remind you of 2009?

No specific song. Although I have liked many songs but I can’t associate any of them with this year.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Be regular with my prayers

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Whine about what had already happened and living in my past

16. What was your favourite TV program?

I only watched TV in summers when I was at home, that too only twice or thrice a week, and no specific program, just whatever was playing…

17. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope. In fact I think I love more people now than I did this time last year🙂

18. What was the best book you read?

I have mostly been reading my course books, and OBVIOUSLY, none of them can be rated as best😛.

19. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I have mostly listened to songs sung by those who were singers before 2009 as well🙂, so no specific discoveries this year…

20. What was your favorite film of this year?

Many! And I can’t exactly recall if I watched some of those movies in early 2009 or late 2008. I have watched some excellent Indian as well as English movies this year…

21. What did you do on your birthday?

Spent time with ammi at my relatives as she was here in Karachi those days, and got the cards made by Muneeba and fell in love with those cards!!

22. What kept you sane?

My friends. No doubt about that…

23. Who did you miss?

I missed Muneeba the most, apart from summers obviously when I was at home. Missed my grandfather a lot after he died. I really wanted to talk to him in our specific way. And I missed a couple of my very close friends…

24. Who was the best new person you met?

I met many new people but no one has proven to be the best so far😛

25. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:

As I said earlier as well, Life Goes On, and that living in past only ruins you more…

15 Responses to “The Final Week of 2009 Meme”

  1. nadia said

    “I realized very late that living in your past doesn’t lead you anywhere, and that whatever happens, life goes on…”

    Hey, c’mon … you’re still too young to think that it’s “very late”😀

    Nice meme, by the way.

  2. brocasarea said

    guess wht am flicking it too!!..

    happy new yr!!:)

  3. Umer Toor said

    “Developed a passion of having my own library”

    Oh wow! I’ve developed even a stamp of my “kutab khana.”🙂

  4. adesi said

    you are lucky to have friends backing you up!

  5. illusiOn said

    interesting..

  6. siras said

    Whatever happens, life goes on

    True!

  7. zain said

    living in past are destroyed mentally and after some time economilcally

  8. well, Grandfather…!
    same here.
    the biggest regret of 2009 was not able to see him for the last time……!

    Wish I could have been regular with my prayers too,
    I envy you….!

  9. Full Moon said

    Hey, this was such a honest post! I liked it.🙂

  10. interesting post….
    and a happy new year😀

  11. @Nadia: LOL😛. Well, it could have been sooner🙂. Thank you!

    @Brocasarea: Happy new year to you too brother!!

    @Umer: Haha, thats great! I haven’t even given my library any name🙂

    @Adesi: I sure am lucky to have great friends!!

    @Illusion:🙂

    @Siras: Long time… I hope everything is good at your end

    @Zain: Well, destroyed mentally is understandable (although destroyed is a harsh word) but how does it destroy you economically?🙂

    @Yamnarehman: Welcome to Amar Bail. I hope you keep visiting my blog…

    @Full Moon: Was it to say that my other posts aren’t honest? :-O. And thank you for liking the post…

    @yesterdaywasbetter: Happy new year to you too!!

  12. 🙂 Live in present and never regret on Past… don’t think about future….
    Life moves on and no one knows when will it stop breathing, only moment and all end… 🙂

  13. @CU: So true! Living in past is what really kills us without us realizing it…

  14. jia arshad said

    im vry curious about the ur memorable date of 2009:.n i hve never saw u angry,ur a very calm person!

  15. jia arshad said

    im very curious about your memmorable date of 2009:)n i never saw u in anger,u r a calm person……..n sory 4 my stupid mistakes,,,nt vry good at typing:(

Leave a Reply

 
