Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

Small World

Posted by Haris Gulzar on December 13, 2009

Yesterday, I met my 16 year old friend. We hadn’t seen each other all these 16 years, but yesterday when I saw him, it felt as if he hadn’t changed one single bit. That same face, that same height, those same face cuts, that same voice and style of talking. Actually it was him who recognized me first, but the moment I saw his face, I knew it was him. I felt so good yesterday. I proudly told people around me that I met my 16 year old friend.

He is a student at IBA, but because IBA has two campuses, the City Campus and the Main Campus, we didn’t get to meet each other. He is a student at the City Campus, and none of my classes coincide with his. It has been 1.5 years since I have been studying here and have also been going to the City campus for my evening courses, but never did I get any chance to see him. But there had to be a reason for us to meet. IBA had its convocation event yesterday, hence there were no classes held. Each year, the students form a convocation management team and work closely with the administration to make this event a success. Both that friend of mine and I were in this convocation management team, and because of this reason, he was present at the Main campus yesterday for the event. He approached me and said, “yaar aap Sunbeams main parhtay thay” (Did you take any classes at Sunbeams?). For your Information, Sunbeams Grammar School is the school I did my 3rd to 5th classes from. I saw him and was like, I have seen you somewhere. While he was nodding his head, I said “Ali??”…

It was great to see him. Just fantastic. We were a group of 4, and amazingly enough, I found the other two friends on facebook when I shifted to Karachi last year. It was 1994 when I shifted to Islamabad from Karachi, and Ali had left the school in 1993, but still we remembered how we used to call out names of people and who taught us which course and where our classes used to be etc. It really couldn’t have gotten any stranger and amazing than it did yesterday. This, no doubt, is a very small world…

12 Responses to “Small World”

  1. […] This cup of tea was served by: Amar Bail […]

  2. illusiOn said

    its funny.. wen too frnds meet after a long time.. and yes it a something good.. memorable..

  3. Raaji said

    aw.. this is really sweet. I hope you keep in touch with him now🙂

  4. Saba said

    awww, that’s sooo sweeet… Wish i could meet my best friend from class 1… I wonder where she is!

    http://tinyurl.com/yby3w3f

  5. @Illusion: Its an amazing feeling I tell you. Specially when the other person recognizes and remembers you and all the time you spent together…

    @Raaji: I hope too🙂.

    @Saba: Try finding her in the other campus of your school (if it has one :-P). I hope you find her soon Insha-Allah.

  6. Full Moon said

    This post reminded me of my friend. I don’t even know where she is at this point of life.
    Hope I will bump into her one day.😦

  7. Specs said

    Wow, that’s a cute story.

    I’m going to meet a friend who has been with me since nursery at my wedding, Insha’Allah🙂

  8. masood said

    WOW..definitely a small world.

  9. nahl said

    It’s amazing to meet old friends after ages!
    I also love meeting old teachers-it’s the best.

  10. @Full Moon: I hope you find her soon Insha-Allah🙂.

    @Specs: Thats sweet. And btw, when is your wedding?

    @Masood: It sure is🙂

    @Nahl: The best feeling is when they recall all the greatest moments you spent together… Meeting old teachers is a nice feeling as well (Y)…

  11. Ayesha said

    Interesting! This world is really a small place… I agree🙂

  12. absolutely …
    the world just gets smaller by the day🙂

Leave a Reply

 
