Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

iRead…

Posted by Haris Gulzar on July 31, 2009

For the past couple of months, I have been subscribing to almost each and every blog I visit, to a lot of news feeds, Metblogs, quotations, comics, Reader’s Digest jokes and what not. Almost everyday when I sign in to my reader application, I have more than 300 Unread items from which about 200 just get marked as read without even noticing what those items were about. What than remains unread is a few blogs and a couple of more feed items that I enjoy reading.

Most of the blogs I have subscribed to happen to be very very active. A few of those I have subscribed to have multiple authors so mostly there are more than one posts from those blogs, others have at least one. Some bloggers even have three or even four blogs. I really wonder how they manage all of their blogs with the precise accuracy of which post to write for which blog.

The reason I started subscribing to so many feeds was that I thought I’d need some activity to keep me busy throughout my summer vacations. I brought two novels, “The crow eaters” by Bapsi Sidhwa, and “Kartography” by Kamila Shasie. I was also given the novel “Amar Bail” by Umera Ahmed as a gift from one of my friends, and I thought I’d at least finish this novel in my vacations, but as if things go according to what I plan😦. I did start reading Amar Bail but haven’t even read half of it, and that too was about a month back, so I’d probably have to start reading it again😦.

I must say that while subscribing to all these blogs I visited, I did come across some very good blogs. Blogs that I really learn a lot from and really look forward to reading more from their authors. I’m also planning to write a post about the blogs I really liked (so those who want their blogs publicized should place their bids asap and the highest bidder will get his/her blog name published at the top :-P).

29 Responses to “iRead…”

  1. Asad Ali said

    hay bro ..Don’t forget me..:) “Not Kiddin…G”

  2. […] This cup of tea was served by: Amar Bail […]

  3. I dont know how to send you bids…. but do remember me also…..
    😛

    At last i found one more person who is not conjusted in his own blog circle and freely moves on…….

    Nice activities and utilization of time….

  4. @Asad: LOL😛. Don’t worry brother🙂. Thanx for your comment.

    @Hasan: I’ll definitely remember you. Thank you for such a nice comment. It feels great to have readers I can learn a lot from. Please do keep visiting my blog.

  5. Full Moon said

    I can’t wait to read the post about the blogs you really liked:/

  6. @Huda:🙂

  7. Full Moon said

    😛

  8. said

    Okay. first off: Karatography: AMAAAAAZZZZIIINNNGGGGG book; hands down. I LOVED it. Really.😐

    Blog subscriptions? Hahaha. That was me a few days ago. Now, even if I blog, I hardly get the time to read other people’s blog posts! Yours for example, was always on the list of yet-to-be-read. Sigh. No time, no time. But, I just caught up on it. I am glad I did😀

    And I too am looking forward to reading about the blogs you liked.😉 Cant wait.
    😀

  9. M. M. said

    I hope you include my blog among those “good” blogs😛
    I’ve been reading The Spiral Staircase by Karen Armstrong *smiling eyes*

  10. M. M. said

    Well, I’m no intellectual… but I really admire writing…and my original style (you can term it “immature” at times)… Also, I appreciate others’ endeavors with words… this that keeps me sticked to Blogosphere n.n

  11. @Huda:😛

    @Qa: Welcome to Amar Bail. Yup, Kartography was recommended to me by a lot of people. I hope I read it soon. And time is one thing we all don’t have😦. I’ll definitely write about the blogs I liked as soon as I get time🙂

    @M.M: The Spiral Staircase…hmmm. Is it a good read? I forgot to mention in my honest things that I love collecting books, without being sure if I’d be able to read them or not. Would you recommend reading it?

  12. Bina Khan said

    I have the same story to narrate.. I haven’t subscribed to that many blogs, but the ones I have subscribed to, I don’t even get to read them.. with so many things to do, I even forget to open my Reader😦

    I love Umaira Ahmed’s novels. Do share your views on all the three novels once you are done with them..🙂

  13. Full Moon said

    🙂😉😛

  14. @Bina Khan: I hope things are good at your end Insha-Allah. Sure will share my views once Im through reading these books Insha-Allah.

    @Huda: Hey relax, your blog isnt one of those I really really liked (so far) so all these emoticons can take a break😛 (that was too honest wasn’t it :-D)

  15. Huda said

    :O
    Hawwwww, that was meannnn. I wasn’t sending those because of that reason
    Sheesh!

  16. siras said

    I* have to read Kartography- it’s been on my list to read for some time now, but still haven’t got a chance🙂

  17. Komal Ali said

    Kartography is on my list too. No time *sigh* Crow eaters is a nice one (: I read it long ago. Bride by Bapsi Sidhwa is amaaazing too! I have this hobby of collecting books too, even when I never have time to read them ;O Weird.

    I’m looking forward to seeing what blogs you like. I’m gonna steal some for my blogroll if I like em ;P

  18. jman said

    17 posts and not one mention of my blog http://jjutol.blogspot.com/ aka iWrite.
    I am so pertubed by this! Ha Although the author of this post gives away his fondness for my blog just by the post title “iRead”. Your welcome dude.

    Kartography i found extremely boring and tedious. And even though i read more than half (i couldnt finish it) i found i couldnt concentrate on it.

    I would like to recommend some books here.

    Life of Pi.
    Shantaram.

    Enjoy
    http://jjutol.blogspot.com/

  19. Jafar said

    آپ جتنا زیادہ پڑھیں گے، اتنا ہی اچھا لکھیں گے
    🙂

  20. jman said

    I wonder why you deleted my. Post?

    Jjutsol.blogspot

  21. @Huda: Sorry :-$.🙂😉😛

    @Siras: Same here. I hope I get time soon…

    @Komal: Kartography seems to be a popular book🙂. I’ll try getting my hands on Bride as well but again, I still have 3 books waiting for my time😦

    @Jman: I have subscribed to your bog and probably thats exactly where I got the idea of naming this post. And yeah, thank you🙂

    Well, the person who recommended Kartography to me did so very very strongly, so I think I’d have to go through the book myself to find out if it is really that interesting or boring as you say. Besides, now that I have spent some money on it, I’d want to make use of it😛

    Thanx for the recommendations. I’d like to get my hands on these books too. Thanx alot buddy (Y). And why would I delete your comment. I dont know why but it was waiting for my approval, although I have allowed all comments to be published without approval…

    @Jafar: یار لکھنے کا وقت پھر بھی مل جاتا ہے، پڑھنے کا نہیں ملتا۔ ۔ ۔ اصل میں پڑھنے کا دل کرتا ہے رات کو سونے سے پہلے، مگر سونے سے پہلے نیند بہت آرہی ہوتے ہے، اسلئیے نہیں پڑھ پاتا۔ ۔ ۔😛

  22. jman said

    Whoops, theres my post right there. I stand corrected.🙂

    Happy reading dude?

  23. […] like . But before I proceed, I think I should give credit to Jman from where the title of my post iRead was inspired, which now becomes the inspiration for the title of this post. Thank you Jman […]

  24. M. M. said

    Sure, I would (:

  25. jman said

    Thank you for the mention!🙂

    Hey did you know i was interviewed? What, you didnt?

    check it out! 🙂

  26. […] Posts Aunty-ism…iLike…iRead…Touching […]

  27. imtiazulhassan said

    Gud to see a person who thinks out of his company too.be affirmative in ur that very characteristic and do stimulate others also.

  28. @Jman: Thanx buddy. I’d sure drop by your blog Insha-Allah.

    @M.M: I’d try getting my hands on it Insha-Allah.

    @Imtiazulhassan: Thank you, and Welcome to Amar Bail.

  29. […]🙂. But before I proceed, I think I should give credit to Jman from where the title of my post iRead was inspired, which now becomes the inspiration for the title of this post. Thank you Jman […]

Leave a Reply

 
