Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

A 100 days!

Posted by Haris Gulzar on July 26, 2009

My niece usually tells me that she now knows counting even beyond one hundred, and that her fellow students can’t even remember till 100. This number, 100, was something BIG. This for her was the limit of almost everything. The way she expressed her ability to count till 100 was as if counting till this number makes one a learned person. It was as if she could go out and tell each and every person she meets that she can count till 100. This was something to be proud of for her.

When I came to Lahore for my summer vacations, my niece asked me if I’d stay here for a 100 days? She really couldn’t believe it when I said I will. For her, a 100 days felt like eternity. I also felt I was lucky to have gotten a break of almost 3.5 months. The classes at IBA used to start on the 1st of August every year but from my batch onwards, they have shifted the start of classes a further one month, which means the classes would now start from around the 1st of September (this was probably to synchronize the start of classes with other universities across Pakistan). This gave us an extra one month, making our vacations almost a 100 days long.

Now that I realize that more than half of my vacations have already passed and that only one month now remains for me to go back and join my studies, I so want to tell my niece that a 100 days is nothing, that there is nothing BIG about 100, and that the remaining one month would also just fly without us realizing about it…

23 Responses to “A 100 days!”

  1. brocasarea said

    i can relate to her excitement….children are children no!!:)

  2. brocasarea said

    thanks for visiting my blogpage:)

  3. awwwwwwwwwwww.. i have a lil cuzzin and she talks like this and surely time is like water it flows into some gutter some place🙂

  4. siras said

    Aww, cuteness!! =D

  5. Huda said

    Awwww, this is so ADORABLE!😀

    “When I came to Lahore for my summer vacations, my niece asked me if I’d stay here for a 100 days?” – I simply loved this =P .. And yea you’re right .. 100 days would just fly. July is almost done, then August and then my University starts too =( Darn it.

  6. […] This cup of tea was served by: Amar Bail […]

  7. Komal Ali said

    Awwwww. That’s adorable =D May God bless her!

  8. Jafar said

    چھٹیوں اور پیپسی میں یہی خرابی ہے
    جب مزا آنے لگتا ہے، ختم ہوجاتی ہے

  9. hasanphd said

    endearing ! induced me to remember my neices and nephews… i missed them because i m out of homenow a days even in vocations😦 doing internship…. You are lucky…🙂

  10. @Brocasarea: True! Thats such an innocent phase of ones life…

    @AD:🙂. May Allah bless your lil cuzzin

    @Siras:😀

    @Huda: Yeah Darn it😛

    @Komal: Ameen. Thank you so very much for your wishes Komal.

  11. @Jafar: ہاہاہا۔ کیا تشبیح دی ہے آپنے حضرت۔ بہت خوب

    @Hasanphd: Welcome to Amar Bail. In that sense, yeah Im lucky Alhamdulillah, but only after a short while I’ll have to shift back to my hostel to continue my studies😦. You’ll get to meet your nieces and nephews soon Insha-Allah.

    And do keep visiting my blog.

  12. Raaji said

    aww…. kids are adorable. I just posted something about kids myself!🙂

  13. @Raaji: They sure are. Yeah that was a very well written post on your blog (Y).

  14. aww, that is soo cute!
    little things seem so great and amazing when ur a child.
    :]

  15. Nikki said

    well saying like this would probably break her heart. She will realize it herself once she steps from 100 to 200😀

  16. hasanphd said

    Electric Encourager
    Do leave your electrifying words on my electrifying Posts also…….🙂
    Thank You

  17. M. M. said

    Children possess such inexplicable innocence *puppy dog eyes*
    And best of luck for uni…😀
    IBA… Cool😛

  18. @[[[ X SMILEY X ]]]: Welcome to Amar Bail. You have a strange name😛. Childhood is a different world in its entirety isn’t it!

    @Nikki: She’d probably realize how quickly a 100 days pass by when I’d be on my way back🙂. That’d probably be the best way to learn for her🙂 (I think)

    @Hasanphd: I sure will Insha-Allah. Do keep visiting my blog.

    @M.M: They sure do… And thank you for your wishes. Have you been to/studied at IBA?

  19. Absar said

    Hahah! Well, a 100 days of vacation really ARE a lot!😮

  20. […] . As one of my very best friends mentioned, when we were discussing how time flies, that another 100 days have gone by. I hope my time here at Karachi, away from family, flies by as fast as my vacations […]

  21. […] . As one of my very best friends mentioned, when we were discussing how time flies, that another 100 days have gone by. I hope my time here at Karachi, away from family, flies by as fast as my vacations […]

  22. Sabahat said

    I believe a hundred days are really something BIG, even a hundred minutes or a hundred seconds as well. . When it comes to meet the people you love, even a single second becomes something BIG🙂

  23. @Sabahat: Agreed. But when it comes to departing from those you love, and when you recall the 100 days, you only feel you didn’t get enough time…

Leave a Reply

 
