Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

The question!

Posted by Haris Gulzar on July 21, 2009

A couple of days back, I was walking with my dad when he asked me if I have my wallet and mobile with me. I told him I didn’t have them and suddenly I recalled why did he ask me this question. There are two incidents associated with this question and with we being careful now to have our wallets or mobiles with us if we’re walking.

Incident # 1:

It was the 23rd of November, 2006, 2215 HRS. I was coming out of my University after having a meeting with a few faculty members. My car was the only car parked in the parking and the guard was only waiting for me to pay the parking charges so that he can leave. I was accompanied with three other friends. As soon as we came out in the parking area, I paid the parking charges and the guard left immediately. We discussed the points we had under discussion in the meeting with faculty and soon the other three friends of mine were on their way as well. Their motorcycles were parked inside university. They went inside, brought their bikes out and were gone, that’s when I also unlocked my car, sat inside, closed the door, put the key in the ignition and…

I heard a knock on the window followed by a very loud voice. “Bahar aao, BAHAR AAO” (Come out, COME OUT). The person shouting through the window had a gun pointing towards my head. I opened the door, stepped out and before I could say anything, I saw another person running towards me, and as soon as he reached me, he loaded his gun right in font of my eyes (that’s a scary sight I tell you) and put the gun on my chest. Within less than, or a maximum of 10 seconds, I was deprived of my mobile and my wallet. And let me also mention that the mobile I lost was the one I bought after doing Teaching Assistantships at my university for one complete year. That mobile was worth my life time savings at that time. The knock that I heard that day is still so fresh in my ears that I still get frightened sometimes when someone knocks on a window😦.

Incident # 2:

My father was walking to the mosque for Isha prayers. The area mosque is hardly 7-8 minutes of walk away from our place. He was almost a 100 meters from the mosque when two young men approached him on a motorcycle and asked him to handover everything to them. Fortunately, he wasn’t carrying his mobile or his wallet with him. Confused, he started running towards the mosque, and the dacoits (they also got confused probably) just flew away Alhamdulillah.

My father has now made it a point to make sure everyone walking with him at the time of Maghrib and/or Isha prayers doesn’t have his mobile or wallet with him. He now doesn’t forget to ask this question…

16 Responses to “The question!”

  1. Jafar said

    اپنا واقعہ سنا کے آپ کو بور نہیں کرنا چاہتا۔۔۔
    عام بات ہوگئی ہے اس لئے۔۔۔
    اور اس کی وجوہات پر بات کرکے بھی کچھ فائدہ نہیں۔۔۔
    سننے والا کوئی نہیں۔۔۔

  2. Komal Ali said

    Some moments get locked in our minds! There was kidnapping attempt on me like two years ago and I still get scared when I see that color of van on the road or if I pass by that street. *shrugs*

  3. siras said

    😮😮😮 That must have been scary!!!😮

  4. […] This cup of tea was served by: Amar Bail […]

  5. @Jafar: سہی کہا۔ شاید سننے والا کوئی نہیں ہے، مگر ہم اپنی سی کوشش تو کر ہی سکتے ہیں۔ کوشش اپنی آواز اٹھانے کی، کوشش لوگوں میں شعور پیدا کرنے کی، جسکا شاید کوئی فائدہ نہ ہو، مگر یہ ایک کوشش ہی سہی۔ ۔ ۔

  6. Haris Gulzar said

    @Komal: You’re right. There are moments that we can’t get rid of and they keep on coming to our minds every now and then.

    @Siras: Welcome to Amar Bail. It sure was scary. It has been more than 2.5 years now for the incident that happened with me but I still remember each and every second of the happenings so very clearly😦

  7. zain said

    its our bad luck. we hav a country but not a system that provides us the peace. the people who try to support peace are killed by terrorists.we are left with ourselves so tht we should make a self security system for ourselves.

  8. Raza said

    This is such a common occurrence in Karachi now. Of all my friends, there only a few who have not gone this experience. Me and several others have been robbed of our mobiles/wallets countless times!

  9. @Zain: Welcome to Amar Bail. Thats very well put. We have a country that lacks any systems😦.

    @Raza: Welcome to Amar Bail. Yeah Karachi is the worst hit city when it comes to street crimes…

  10. nadia said

    You’re tagged!

  11. frightening experience…..

    being an indian myself i knw d kind of mentality we subcontinental people have…..i knw we all r similar with no difference’s at all…..i’ve heard some of these incidents in the interiors of our country too…..

    but if u believe me….den i think it is because of the mafia nexus which is operating in ur city which is responsible for these n hence the criminals r moving scot free….i’ve read some articles on the internet itself which declares that there r some internationally acclaimed mafia’s operating from their den’s which are located there…..

  12. AD said

    some moments are etched in our memories for teh better or worse forever!
    life is so weird.

    like so so weird!

  13. Mehreen Ali Kasana said

    Jeez, man.

  14. @Nadia: Hey thanx. Havent thought about it but will sure give it some time🙂

    @Narendra: Yeah probably you’re right. But if we give it some thought, aren’t we ourselves responsible for all this mess in our countries. India being no exception. Isn’t their poverty because of us, isn’t this corruption because of us. In fact as far as I know, the difference between the richest and the poorest is more in India as compared to Pakistan. Don’t you think there should be equality? Easier said than done huh?

    @AD: Actually, it isn’t weird at all times, but yeah, sometimes it sure acts weird🙂

    @Mehreen: Scary no?🙂

  15. gud to find ur internal feelings my fren….
    i dunno wanna comment on the relationships vich our countries are having for last 60 or more odd years…..

    ‘cuz people in both the countries hav their own versions n both the versions are true in some or the other respect…..

    i never raised dis issue of inequality in any county but i don’t understand how cum u’ve commented regarding this….
    probably its b’cuz u had to say regardin n dats y u r commenting bout it out of blue….isn’t it !!!!

  16. @Narendra: You probably didn;t get my point. What I meant was, the corruption, thefts and robberies etc are mainly the reason of differences amongst rich and poor. Don’t you think. All I meant was, we should be trying our best to bridge this gap as much as possible…

    I never thought there was anything out of blue in my comment. Apologies if you felt hurt. Do keep visiting my blog…

Leave a Reply

 
