Amar Bail

A plant of eternity

My blog gets a name!

Posted by Haris Gulzar on April 5, 2009

It was October 2008 when I wrote my first post. It was a feeling inside me that motivated me to start writing, a feeling that gave me enough confidence to express myself. It was a feeling of missing Muneeba, my niece, that I made up my mind to write my first post. That post was in Urdu, and the title of that post and the contents were just coming to me as if everything was already planned. That was when the journey began. My blog was named “Haris Gulzar’s Weblog” at that time. I could hardly take up the tension of renaming my blog and of thinking about some meaningful and attractive name for my blog. What mattered the most at that time was to write my first post.

I probably got too busy in my studies after writing my first post, because my second post came in February. That was when I thought about having an attractive name for my blog, a catchy name, something that expressed that I loved writing, that I loved expressing myself. I thought of “Floating Thoughts” but later found that one of my very close friends had already been using this blog name since long. And yeah, how ignorant of me not to know the blog name of one of my very close friends, well my defense is, I was not into writing and/or reading blogs, hence I didn’t know that blog name was already taken.

The best blog name I could have thought at that time (It was February ‘09) was “Expressions Afloat”. Although I didn’t like this name much, but it was probably better than what I previously had. I haven’t been consistent in writing since then but whatever I wrote made me think at least once to rename my blog and give it some creative name. I was constantly searching for a blog name. I even started asking my friends about suggestions. The suggestions I received were “Golden leaves”, “Amarbail”, “Naubahar” (this was my own suggestion), and also “Darwaza”, “Khirki”, “Deewar”…

Amarbail was the best of all. I was told that it is only one word, meaning “A plant of eternity”, but that’s something I’m still confused about. I think it should be two words, with Amar meaning eternity and bail meaning a plant (well its literal meaning isn’t plant, but I don’t know its literal meaning :P), but this definitely isn’t an issue at all. Hence for now it will be just one word, but if someone confirms if these are two words, I can always put a space between the words.

Finally, my search for a good blog name ends!

2 Responses to “My blog gets a name!”

  1. […] This cup of tea was served by: Amar Bail […]

  2. Hi, I wish for to subscribe for this webpage to take hottest
    updates, therefore where can i do it please help out.

Leave a Reply

 
